What are Your Love Words? Art Journal Page and Prompt

“We’re all a little weird.  And life is weird.  And when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall into mutually satisfying weirdness – and call it love – true love.

~ Robert Fulghum

Love is such a big part of my life, with my husband, with my kidlets, with my friends, with my community.  So much of my art reflects those feelings and comes from that place in my heart (if you didn’t catch some of my Valentine posts, you might not know I’m a hopeful romantic).

When I was in my younger years (you know, just the other day, lol), I thought the really good art came from places of pain and loneliness and grief.  Even then, though, the art I wanted around me, the art that I enjoyed experiencing, was the art from the joyful places.

I just didn’t get it, I guess that I was romancing that whole “Tortured
Artist’s Soul” thing.  How cute, huh…maybe I’m more mature now, haha, that’s what my mom would say!

Now I realize that my best art comes from those joyful places.  Occasionally, when I need to work out something that seems more negative, it still gets buried under the art that expresses the joyful resolution for which I’m searching.

Love.

Love is my most joyful, heartfelt emotion.  I create way more when I’m waxing rhapsodic about how lovey-dovey I’m feeling, whether it’s about Christopher, or my babes, or my mom, or art itself, whatever.  But it’s all about the LOVE.

This art journal page started out as a doodle (an earlier stab at doodling, as it’s a fairly new art expression for me).  I was just doodling along, wanting to play with my Faber-Castell Pitt Artist brush pens (those are SOOOO awesome, they are waterproof when they set and have great colors and they are like butter!).  So often I shy away from having my own handwriting show up in anything…I have been accused of having attended that class that doctors have to take on learning how to write in such a way that nobody can read it…but this time, I got into it.

And it turned into a page showcasing my Love words.

Prompt: Make a journal page using YOUR favorite Love words…what does love mean to you?  What words do you think of when you think of Love?

4 thoughts on “What are Your Love Words? Art Journal Page and Prompt

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year, and St John Studios Anniversary! | St. John Studios

Leave a Reply

