Be Lovely, Be Unique Art Journal Page and Prompt

I just gotta say, thanks to all of you that visited during the Blog Hop we had this weekend!  What a giant success, I just can’t tell you how exciting it was to see so many people stopping by our blog!  And all of the thoughtful and supportive comments, WOW!!  The love was really flowing!

I guess it’ll be tough now, I’ll be wanting to top that high again…but back to our regularly scheduled programming, lol.

I have been fighting a bit with an art journal that I “stole” from Christopher…well, I bought it for him a couple of years ago, and it was still nestled in the art cabinet.  He hadn’t decided to do anything with it, and I ran out of room in my other main journal…

Is it stealing when I bought it for him to begin with??  

Maybe that’s why I’ve been fighting with it, the whole karma thing and all.  But he DID tell me to have at it!  He only asked that he gets to decorate the cover for me when I’ve filled it up.  Fair trade, huh.

The battle for me has been that it’s a different size than I’ve kept as an art journal before (here’s a peek at an earlier post on a one-sided spread that I did in this same journal).  It’s actually about twice as big, and those pesky limits I set on myself, unbeknownst to me, have had me feeling a little misplaced in this new journal.

Until now.

I have settled into this journal by just filling up the whole two-page spread.  I was working on one page at a time, filling up only one side of the two-page spread.  Not sure what that was about, except maybe I felt like the whole thing was just so BIG for something as casual as journaling.  But now that I have gotten over that silliness, I feel so way much better, like I’m back in my skin again.

And let me tell you, I really do like the big-ness of it.  Now on to the art itself…

I started playing with some colors, feeling all spring-like with the flowers blooming everywhere.  Then in the mail on Saturday, I got my terrific little package from Indie Chic with my giveaway winnings I had to brag about last week (which, by the way, is the most awesome grouping of flower accessories evah!), with a sweet white jewelry box tied with a pink paper ribbon, and in the package was a little calling card.  I was right in the middle of this layout, so they both got Mod Podged right into the page!

I also thought I’d share with you my little tip for journaling spaces.  I used a foam craft sheet to draw out the curvy line template, cut it out with scissors, and voila!  A template for making cute wavy lines for journaling!  Be warned, though, if you like to use dark ink with the template, it will smudge if you use lighter ink the next time.  So keep one for dark inks and one for light inks.

Prompt: I think all artists set limits on themselves occasionally.  When have you realized that you were fighting one of your own boundaries?  How did you get through it?  Did you tear down the boundary, or did you learn to use it to your benefit?  

2 thoughts on “Be Lovely, Be Unique Art Journal Page and Prompt

  1. Dana – we are SO on the same wavelength! I just posted yesterday about my Warped Thinking (http://wp.me/pVd7X-wc) and the limits I place on myself because, well, I just don’t know why. Yes, I do, it’s that mean inner girl talking. I put her in her place though, LOL! Your spread feels so Light, airy and FUN! I’m working in a 9×13 journal and I have to say I am really enjoying it. It’s a BIG change from a little 5×7 altered hardback!!

    Happy Arting!!!!

    • Thanks Lorrie! Haha, I’m glad you know the score :) I, too, have to have that little talk with my inner girl, she thinks she knows what’s best!
      Working in a larger journal is so free-ing, isn’t it? Happy Arting to you too, on my way to visit your post now.
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

