Why Do You Art?

“Follow your bliss and doors will open where there were no doors before.”

Joseph Campbell

Good question huh.  Makes for a great art journal prompt: Why do I art?

I’m not sure that why I art really has been a focus for me, or rather, it hasn’t really had much of a “why” other than it sure is fun.

What I’ve noticed over time, though, is how art affects me.

For the first time in my whole entire life, I don’t bite my fingernails.  Yep, go ahead and do a double take as you wonder what that has to do with anything.  In the meantime, I’ll explain.

I have been a fingernail-biter since I can remember.  Pretty much since always.  When I was a kid, my mom was always telling me to stop biting my fingernails.  As I got older, I battled trying to look like a feminine girl, with pretty fingernails all filed and painted.  In business as an adult, I worry a lot that my chewed-on fingernails (and cuticles for that matter) look terrible as I have to shake hands meeting clients.  I sometimes bite my fingernails too short and they hurt.  It’s a terrible habit and one that I have never been able to break.

Until now.

Arting has given me a release that I never expected.  I tend to be a bit hyper, a bit over-strung.  My mind is usually racing and it feels like I’m always “working” on something in my head.  My mental and emotional self is a whirlwind of activity and busy-ness and I have a tough time sitting down and relaxing.

Until now.

Arting centers my whole self, and I didn’t expect that either.  I thought that I was doing a pretty good job with keeping my stress to a minimum (knowing that some stress is a good and motivational thing), and I’ve learned over the years how to distract myself and find something to do to get my mind off of my stresses.  But that’s not the same as just releasing the energy.

Since I’ve been actively arting almost every day, I have stopped biting my fingernails.  I have calmed down tremendously.  I feel centered, I feel grounded, I feel, well, just all around happier.

What difference does art make in your life?

And the prompt for your art journal, make your page with this question in mind.  I will post mine later.

4 thoughts on “Why Do You Art?

  1. Pingback: Art Journal Fodder ™ an Art Journal Page and Prompt | St. John Studios

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year, and St John Studios Anniversary! | St. John Studios

  3. Pingback: I Art Because I Must | St. John Studios

  4. Pingback: Breaking the Counting Habit and a DIY Art Journal | St. John Studios

Leave a Reply

