They’re Playing Our Song, I Love You Day Song List

We’re moving right along towards Valentine’s Day!  My grade-school daughter is working on hand-made Valentines for her class party, and I’m prepping for our little family dinner night.

Today I have a peek into our musical life.  We have lists of music for many occasions, and Valentine’s Day is no different.  Well, maybe it’s different in that it’s all about love songs.

Distress ink pad, hand-made heart stamps, Tsukineko stamp ink pad, doily, Distress Stickles, Sumi ink, white out tape

I made this page first by using Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad in Fired Brick.  I just smeared it around on the blank page (which was pre-treated with pastel base).  Then I used some hand-made stamps to stamp the large and small hearts around on the background.  I used Tuxedo Black Tsukineko fade-resistant dye ink for those.

Stamps cut out of craft foam sheets, texture with a metal circle squished into a heart

Here’s a pic of the two stamps I used.  I cut them out of sticky-backed craft foam and stuck ’em on some old lids as my base.

Then I used some correction tape to put some text boxes around on the side with the songs listed.

I put some rub-on letters on a doily.  I also used the Tim Holtz Distress ink to color up the doily, and then I used the coordinating Distress Stickles to add some pizzazz to the doily after I glued it down.

The photo corners are Martha Stewart, I think.  They come in white and you color them or decorate them from there.  I used Sumi ink to get them a nice, dark black.  I used Sumi ink as well for the title on the opposite page, They’re Playing Our Song.

Then just a bit of writing to put the songs on the list.  At the end, I thought it still needed a bit of something, so I used the large heart stamp to stamp on top of the songs with Inkssentials Watermark resist ink pad, and embossed that with Stampendous Marcasite embossing powder.  You can’t see so well in the photographs, but the Marcasite has glitter mixed in with it and adds awesome sparkle!

Here’s the song list, you might want to check them out, it’s a great set of love songs:

  • I’ll Follow You Into the Dark, by Death Cab for Cutie
  • Home, by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes
  • You Can Be My Yoko Ono, by Barenaked Ladies
  • All I Do is Dream of You, by Leon Redbone
  • Dream a Little Dream, by Mama Cass
  • Banana Pancakes, by Jack Johnson
  • Jones Crusher, by Frank Zappa
  • If I Had a $1,000,000, by Barenaked Ladies
  • Sunday Kind of Love, by Etta James
  • Walk the Line, by Johnny Cash
  • Kiss Me, by Sixpence None the Richer

Maybe not your typical love songs, but they’re all great.  I hope you enjoy!

What are your favorite love songs?

6 thoughts on “They’re Playing Our Song, I Love You Day Song List

  1. Pingback: Love is All You Need Art Journal Page | St. John Studios

  2. Pingback: They Own This! | St. John Studios

  3. Pingback: Home, Sweet Love Song | St. John Studios

  4. I love “Have I Yold You Lately” but only by Van Morrison, Rod Stewart just can’t do it justice. And “Trouble” by Over the Rhine. Thanks so much for sharing, your blog is a great encouragement to me as I start on my own artistic journey.

Leave a Reply

