New Horizons, Recently Completed Work

Never have I found the limits of the photographic potential. Every horizon, upon being reached, reveals another beckoning in the distance.  Always, I am on the threshold.

~ W. Eugene Smith

I just finished taking some shots of a recently completed work, New Horizons.

This was a really satisfying and fun piece for me.  I have been struggling a bit with getting as much texture as I want.  I can get lots of texture in the 2-dimensional realm, with lots of layers of images on a work.  But I just hadn’t gotten the texture I was wanting in a more 3-dimensional way.

Closeup of the texture

Christopher new I was fighting it, he’s watched me struggling for quite some time now.  He’s such an awesome art director, he doesn’t make suggestions unless I ask for them.  But a few months ago, he got me some tubes of caulk from the Home Depot.  He lovingly squeezed the caulk out into some plastic jars and just left them in one of my art drawers, knowing that eventually I would start messing with it.

And I did, finally.  Wow!  I can’t believe I wasted so much time fighting with gels and modeling pastes and other stuff.  Caulk* was what I was looking for all along!

*Let me tell you, if you haven’t played with some, do yourself a favor and go get some.  It’s cheap, anywhere between 2 and 5 bucks, depending on exactly what kind of caulk you want.  It comes in clear silicones, white latex (which is what I used on this piece), gritty sand caulk, all kinds of stuff.  Make sure that you let the caulk texture fully cure if you want to keep the defined texture.  It can be lightly sanded later after it cures to knock off some of the peaks, if that’s what look you’re going for.  Working with it is like smoothing on sour cream…it’s smooth, and easy to move around.  You can also use a bit of water if it starts getting sticky on you.

The toughest part for me was really waiting for the caulk to dry and cure.  I’m terribly impatient when I have to wait for anything to dry!  I keep lots of projects going, that way if something is in a hurry-up-and-wait-stage, I can go do the next stage on something else.

I would love to hear about what seemingly non-traditional art mediums you love.  Leave me a comment, I’m sure I’m not the only one who would like to hear about it!

Wrapped 12" X 12" canvas, caulk, acrylic paint, water soluble wax crayons

6 thoughts on “New Horizons, Recently Completed Work

  1. Pingback: Caulk Texture Technique, for Art Journal or Mixed Media Works | St. John Studios

  2. Pingback: Another Cool Canvas with Caulk Texture | St. John Studios

  3. Pingback: Always Be Courting, a Caulk Canvas and Technique Video | St. John Studios

Leave a Reply

