Elemental, an Art Journal Page

The artist is the only one who knows that the world is a subjective creation, that there is a choice to be made, a selection of elements.

~ Anais Nin

Like most of you, I browse the interwebs and look for inspiration fodder and how other artists come up with their inspirations.

I also have one of my many sketchbooks that is for doodling and taking notes and jotting down snippets of ideas.  When I’m wanting to art a bit, but I don’t have anything in particular in mind, I go to that sketchbook and flip to one of my lists.  I don’t think much or get stuck on “trying to decide what to make”.  I just open it up, pick something from the first list I see, and start arting.  Keeps that inner critic a little bit quieter.

One of my many lists is a list of words.  Words that I’ve had stuck in my head, or words that I like to use, or words that I just like the way the sounds play out.  When I’m looking for something to do, I can open that list and pick a word and build a page around it.  I don’t always have an idea of where the page will go or end up, I just pick the word and start digging around in colors that seem to go with the word.

Have you ever heard of synesthesia?  It’s basically where the signals in the brain get a bit crossed and the synesthete hears colors, or sees music, or smells colors, that sort of thing.  It’s a crossed signal, or multi-signals with sensorial messages.

I think most artists have a feel for how that might work.  While we may not all be synesthetes, most of us can relate to having sounds that go with colors, or words that trigger certain smells…do you know what I mean?

So my word list does that for me.  I can mull a word over and over and colors seem to go with it.  Or I can play one of my music lists and I’ll want to work with certain visuals or words or medium.

This page is one such art journal page.

Neocolors, gel medium, magazine picture, rubons, sumi ink, rhinestones

Prompt: Start a list of words that sound cool.  Or words that you like or use a lot.  Use that list as a go-to place for inspiration.

What are some words that you love?

One thought on “Elemental, an Art Journal Page

  1. Pingback: Art Journal Fodder ™ an Art Journal Page and Prompt | St. John Studios

Leave a Reply

