The Path with Heart Art Journal Prompt

Look at every path closely and deliberately, then ask ourselves this critical question: Does this path have a heart? If it does, then the path is good.  If it doesn’t, it is of no use.

~ Carlos Castaneda

Choose the path with heart.  I have been learning to measure my activities and choices by that.  If the activity in question doesn’t follow along the path with heart, then it is not where I want to be heading.  It doesn’t mean that I never have to do anything I don’t wanna do.  It just means that I am working towards a goal, towards a way of life that has meaning and passion and heart.

Consider this: How do you measure your daily, weekly, yearly activities?  How do you know when you’re doing the right thing?  How do you know when you’re following a path with heart?  Is that even a focus in your life?

Prompt: Try your hand at an art journal page that visualizes what following a path with heart means for you.  Maybe it’s a literal path, maybe it’s a collection of street signs, maybe it’s a picture of what your perfect life looks like.  Allow the page to be a reminder of what path you want to be following.

For my page, I used strips of art papers I’ve made along the way, shiny gel medium, acrylic paint, gel pens, and paint pens.  Oh, and buttons.  I love buttons.

Leave a Reply

