Art Journal Prompt, Feeling the Calm

Be like a duck.  Calm on the surface, but always paddling like the dickens underneath.

~ Michael Caine

I have lots of words that I use as mantras.  I’m a bit high-strung, with lots of energy, even a bit of hyper energy.  That high-strung energy sometimes means that I occasionally slip and find myself looking for something over which to be distressed.  Even if everything is going super well!

So I have these mantra words that I use to remind myself that I don’t really need to be distressed, that I really just need to remember that everything is OK.

“Calm” is one of those words.  When I feel myself getting all worked up, I breathe and tell myself to calm.  Calm.  Breathe in, breathe out.  Calm.

I made myself a journal page as I was reciting that to myself over and over.  I really only got about halfway through working the page in my journal and it had already worked.  I did finish up, though, so I can go back to it when I need the visual reminder as well.

Neocolors, foam mask, walnut ink, bits of vellum, ink, Faber-Castell sepia brush pen

Here’s a closeup of the Calm text tiles.  I used vellum that my hubby had previously

Close up of title page

creased and tinted with walnut ink for me (I use those on all kinds of stuff).  I doodled on them and used them as the tiles for the title.

Tip: I did seal the walnut ink layer with Mod Podge before I started the doodling and hand writing.

Prompt: Use a word as a mantra to build a visual page for the mantra.

One thought on “Art Journal Prompt, Feeling the Calm

  1. Pingback: How to Use Ephemera Step 4 | St. John Studios

Leave a Reply

