Altered Board Book, My Manifesto

Happiness is that state of consciousness which proceeds from the achievement of one’s values.

~ Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged

I’ve told you before that I jointed the awesome art journal class 21 Secrets last year.  (If you missed it, you should check out the session getting started for this year in April, what a fun way to learn a whole bunch of fun new stuff from a whole bunch of different artists).

Somewhere around July, I started on an altered board book in the workshop with Gretchen Miller (she has an e-book available on the process that I followed in her 21 Secrets Workshop).

I’m guessing 8 months is a lengthy process for this little art journal, but I started it and then would work on other projects and the little book would get buried under other projects and materials.  And then I’d be digging around looking for something and find it and do another page.

My Revolution: Have faith. Show gratitude. Create & allow: prosperity, abundance, joy, love, inspiration. Be free. My manifesto.

The whole project has been really fun, it was a personal expression of concepts that matter to me in my life.  It was also a really fun project in that the sole purpose was to motivate and remind me of these concepts, not some motivation to give as a gift, or put in a showing, or try to sell.

So it’s a bit casual and a bit sparkly and something that I’m pleased to have completed.  It does not get buried under stuff now; it has a special spot with my motivational items and books in my studio.

Faith.  Follow your faith and you will not lose your way.  Faith is the compass.

Allowance.  Hold the vision.  Trust the process.  Focus.  Allow the manifestation to come to fruition.  I do not have to know all of the details.  Let go of fear.  Think Less.

Prosperity.  Prosperous, flourishing, or thriving condition; good fortune; success.

Inspiration.  A world of possibilities.

Joy.  Take joy in life.  Joy in my kids.  Joy from Christopher.  Joy in art.  Joyful creations.  Joy in business.  Joy in Reno.  Joy in the sunshine.  Joy at the lake.  Take joy in life.  Create joy in everything we do.  Teach the children joy.  Joy makes living good.  Joy can be found in all things.  Live and love joyfully.  Share the joy.

Abundance.  Believe in the beauty of giving.

Create.  ‘Nuff said.

Love.  Live in love.  Live what U love.  “And now these three Remain: faith, hope, and love.  But the greatest of these is love.” ~ 1 Corinthians 13:13

Freedom.  Live life like you’ve imagined.

Gratitude.  You will have much to be thankful for in the coming year (Chinese cookie fortune).  Thank you.

And a quick peak at the back cover of my book.  I used a child’s ticket to the movies, somehow that says to me to be involved in life as a child.

12 thoughts on “Altered Board Book, My Manifesto

  1. Hello! I LOVE you Revolution book. I joined 21 Secrets really late last year, but I was really inspired by Gretchen’s workshop. I’ve now got two Revolution books. I found that making the books was really purposeful and rewarding, I hope you did too.
    Big love
    AJ

  2. What a great book! i can see why it doesn’t get buried under anything anymore, it is really beautiful and inspirational! I love all the different colors and styles of pages, very nice!

    • Hi Gretchen, thanks for checking it out! I’m kind of bashful that this book took me such a long time to complete 🙂 but it was one of my very favorite projects ever, and my hubby and my kiddos have all been around watching the process the whole time! I have spent a bunch of time with the kids telling them about it and what each page means for me.
      I’m thrilled you came over and took a peek!
      xoxo MotherDana

  3. Pingback: How-to Prep a Children’s Board Book for an Art Journal, and My Little Board Book of Verses | St. John Studios

  4. Pingback: Face Practice | St. John Studios

Leave a Reply

