Caulk Texture Technique, for Art Journal or Mixed Media Works

Texture is the most enduring and ubiquitous underpinning of form…certainly a calming, meditative and appealing world for both the eye and mind.

~ Lynda Lehmann

Texture is one of my favorite things in art.  I am one of those terrible people that wants to touch art, not just look at it.  I’m the gal the galleries put up ropes to keep out!  Originally, I worked texture mostly visually, by adding layers and layers of visual elements, which works, but is not quite the same thing as 3D texture (is that a technical term??).

So I’m always playing with textural elements, trying different techniques and materials.  The hardware stores is one of my most favorite places to hang out!

I have been messing around lots more with caulk (you can see one of my finished art pieces with caulk here).

I love love love the properties of caulk, it’s so easy to work with!  It goes on smooth and creamy, it can be manipulated into all kinds of cool textures and patterns.  You can stamp texture into it, you can spread it around to make faux broken wall patterns, you can paint it, and you can color it before you use it.  You can use a bit of water to smooth it further, or you can let it get a tiny bit sticky so that it chunks up a bit.  You can draw in it, and you can peak it up into a harsher texture.  Super versatile!!

You can get caulk in glossy or matte finishes.  You can get caulk with gritty sand in it.  You can get it in clear rather than white so that when you color it, the color is translucent.  I can go on and on about caulk.

And, it’s really CHEAP!!  So you can play with it and experiment with it and not feel guilty about how much it costs!

What I’m sharing with you is an experiment.  It’s just a page of technique.  The colors are kind of a train wreck for me…but I wanted to have several colors on it so you could see how the texture takes the color.

The process

1. I taped strips of punchinella in two and a half columns on the paper.  You can see where the tape pieces held down the metal.  And I left small spaces in between the columns to get some added texture.

2. Then I used white glossy acrylic caulk.  I smoothed it over the punchinella with a cake frosting knife.

Then the waiting, how I hate the waiting!  I let it dry and cure for about 8 hours, it does take longer if you apply really heavy (when I’m using it on a canvas, I do use it that way, and I let it dry and cure for 24 hours).

3. Once it was dry, I painted the whole page with the yellow.  I actually watered down the paint so that it was pretty runny so that it would fill in all of the high’s and low’s.  I followed that once it was dry with a second coat of the watery yellow paint.

4. I sealed that layer with a gloss faux glaze.

5. I used very watery colors to add color to the lower parts of the texture.  I just sort of washed it over the area where I wanted the color, let it set for a minute or two, and then wipe off the tops of the circles with a wet paper towel.  You have to be kind of gentle at this point so that you don’t wipe off the paint down in the texture.  You can go back with more than one application at this point if you want the paint to be more opaque than watery.

Side note: I saved the paper towels.  They dried up to be beautiful, tie-dyed paper towels that I’ll use on collage work later.

11 thoughts on “Caulk Texture Technique, for Art Journal or Mixed Media Works

  1. Pingback: Another Cool Canvas with Caulk Texture | St. John Studios

    • Thank you Cassandra! I get my caulk from Home Depot typically. They have so many different kinds of caulk…next I’m playing with caulk with sand in it, to hopefully add another dimension to it.
      Thanks for visiting, I’m working towards some more how-to’s using different caulks and texturing techniques.
      xoxo MotherDana

  2. Pingback: New journal pages « Kitty is Not Amused…

  3. Pingback: How-to Texture Your Journal Page with Caulk | St. John Studios

    • I removed the metal punchinella after I had spread the uncolored caulk all over the strips of punchinella. I waited, oh, about 1 1/2 minutes cuz I’m impatient, but it was just enough to let the caulk set a little bit. Then I slowly peeled off the strips.
      I did wait for the caulk to set 24 hours before I added colors. If you do that too early the caulk gets sticky with the wet from the paint washes.
      Hope that helps! and thanks for visiting 🙂
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

