Bridges, a Journal Page and Prompt

Sometimes, if you stand on the bottom rail of a bridge and lean over to watch the river slipping slowly away beneath you, you will suddenly know everything there is to be known.

~ Winnie the Pooh

I do love the wisdom of Winnie the Pooh.  As a wee one myself, it seems I carried around a Pooh Bear with me everywhere.  My mom still calls me Dana Bear…

And I do love bridges.  I love especially old, wooden bridges, the ones that smell musty and wet and have a solid thump under your feet.  I love covered bridges and I love bridges that are close to the water the span.  There’s something magical about bridges…they help you get from one side to the other.  Metaphorically, the represent for me the path to get from one stage in life over to the next stage.  They show me that it is possible to find a way to get over any unknown space before me.

I have had times in my life when I was standing on one side, I knew that something was coming, some change, some new paradigm…and I thought that it in my mind’s eye, it looked as if I was standing, overlooking a cliff, only seeing darkness and a huge, bottomless chasm out in front of me.  I’d have no idea how I was going to get across that thing.  It felt dark and scary.  I know that it was the unknown that was scaring me, and that’s why it was in my mind that way visually.

I spent years searching for a way to make it all less scary…life brings changes, things happen, new paradigms get built.  Why does it have to be such a dreaded thing?  So I build a bridge that I can just sort of lay out over that chasm.  Then I can just walk over, or run over, whatever the situation warrants, lol.

This page, and this quote, combine both my love for bridges and my love for Pooh.

*It’s also another fun go at the whole sketching thing.  It’s really satisfying to sketch it out and have the kids look at it and know what I drew!

Prompt: What for you represents the cross-over from one stage to another, or from one important time-period to another, or from important life event to another?  It’s a great feeling to get it out on paper, to allow it to be a positive thing in your life, visually.  Try making an art journal page showing how it might look.

Leave a Reply

