The House That Love Built, a Journal Page and Prompt

A house is made of walls and beams; a home is built with love and dreams.

~ Dr. William A Ward

I have a lovely stack of patterned papers, collected from years of scrap booking my kidlets and all of their moments.  I keep every single little bit of paper from those papers, along with every little bit of junk mail cards and wrapping papers and tissue papers…and on and on.  I have large manila envelopes of cuttings from magazines and greeting cards.  I save the packaging and the tags and the inserts from all kinds of stuff.  I even have an envelope stuffed with little boxes, from things like almond extract and screws and candies.

I have a really tough time ever throwing any of that stuff out, cuz you just never know when it might come in handy!

I used to think it was all kind of organized, but in reality, I have no idea what I’m going to be digging through when I start rummaging, lol.

What it is great for, though, is inspiration.  When I’m wandering around, pondering what I want to create, I pull out a couple of those envelopes and start putting scraps on the table. Sometimes the colors seem to go together, and other times it’s the patterns that stand out.

Today’s journal page is a creation that came out of fumbling through a couple of those envelopes.

I have been drawing and painting and piecing together little houses over the past few months.  I’ve got an idea running around in my head for a children’s story, or rather a series of stories, and the little houses are part of that idea.  As I was playing in the scraps of papers, I started some little collage houses that go with the story theme.

I love the bright colors and the lively patterns in this page.  I also love the dimension that using bits of paper adds to the overall page.

Prompt:  Make a journal page with some kind of house, or structure.  Could be a school-house or a Church or even a cityscape with buildings.  Don’t be trapped with traditional color schemes or what you perceive as reality.  Allow the playful, cartoon-y aspect to come out, so that you’re not stuck trying to create the perfect house.

Leave a Reply

