Using Stitching in an Art Journal Page

Great hearts steadily send forth the secret forces that incessantly draw great events.

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

I have been totally caught up on a project that is taking waaaaaay longer than I initially predicted…I’ll be bringing you pics of that hopefully by the beginning of next week.

I did take some time away from it to play in my art journal.  I’ve had the sewing machine out for some other homey projects, making curtains mostly.  As the sewing machine was sitting on the kitchen table, I couldn’t help but start sewing with fabric scraps and papers!

I used unbleached muslin for the background on the left-hand side of the journal spread.  I like the look of the frayed edges on the muslin…you just pull the strings out as far as you want the fray.  I pre-treated the muslin with gesso (after I frayed the edges) and then smeared some off-white paint around on it.  I followed that with some smears of Neo Color crayons to add some color.

Then I taped down the fabric scraps and the papers to hold them in place.  I used a decorative stitch on the machine to attach the pieces to the muslin, before gluing the whole thing into the art journal.

On the right hand side, I used Neo Color crayons to paint up the background.  I stitched the hearts and the scrap of fabric before gluing the whole piece into the journal.

I added the journal block after the fact, but in hindsight, it would’ve been a bit easier had I done that first, lol.  I guess I tend to do a lot of things backwards!

I like that the journal block is not the top layer, I like that because it is a bit obstructed, it’s not so blatant.

And now I can’t seem to get far away from the sewing machine, I have been having such fun stitching together bits and pieces to use in other pages!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prompt: Try using stitching in an art journal page.  It really does add some fun and interest, and helps with adding in bits and pieces to your journal.  Fun, fun!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

