Time is the Greatest Expression of Love, an Art Journal Page

Yesterday is but today’s memory and tomorrow is today’s dream.

~ Khalil Gibran

What’s your relationship with time?  Do you constantly watch the clock?  Are you a scheduler?  Or do you not worry about the time of day, going through time without giving it much of a thought?

Are you always running out of time, wishing that you had just a few more hours in the day?  Or does time seem to pass too slowly, as you wait?

When I was just a kid, I always thought that time was way too slow, that I’d never reach whatever the next milestone was.  As happens with most people, I guess, time seems to move faster and faster each year.  I watch my little ones grappling with time, and I catch myself thinking that I wish it would all slow down now.

I did give up wearing a watch years ago when I gave up being an employee for someone else’s business.  I get a pretty good feel for the time of day from the sun, and we basically follow the natural day-lengths around here.

I say fairly often to my business clients “Time is the one finite resource we have”, usually when I’m talking to them about how to build a business system as they plan for growth.

Christopher told me as we were courting, that our bond transcends time and space (which it does, by the way, I’m pretty sure we’ve done this before and will do so again).

And in church last Sunday, the preacher talked about how the greatest expression of our love is the gift of our time.  Wow…the gift of our time.  And our time really means our attention, don’t you think?

Time is a pretty big concept.

What is your relationship with time?

Your prompt, create an art journal page around time.  Explore what it means to you.  Use words, pictures, quotes, colors, whatever seems to express that weird, ethereal concept.  Time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

P.S. For an added bit of fun, here’s a side note on my page: For the background and inspiration before I even got to the theme of time, I played with school supplies.  I used watercolors, markers, and some flower stencils that I got in the pile of school supplies for the kidlets.  Nothing in that pile was more than a buck, yay!!  The clocks were all cut out of old magazines.  A little bit of glitter glue and some embossing powder added the pizzazz.

2 thoughts on “Time is the Greatest Expression of Love, an Art Journal Page

  1. Thanks for the lovely comment on my new blog. So nice!

    Interesting thoughts! I have had a really bad relationship with time. I was bedridden/ housebound for most of my twenties and when I got back out into the world again, I kind of felt like I had to make up for lost time. It drove me absolutely crazy for a few years. And yes, time definitely seems to be going faster and faster as we get older.

    • Hi Carin, I already feel so much like I have to make up for lost time…time frombefore I knew God, or from before my hubby found me, or from before I started following my heart instead of what everyone else had in mind for me.
      I can’t imagine losing time like you did! Talk about perspective 🙂
      Thanks for sharing!
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

