Sing Like No One’s Listening

Sing like no one’s listening, love like you’ve never been hurt, dance like nobody’s watching, and live like it’s heaven on Earth.

~ Mark Twain

I had in mind a journal page I wanted to work on, with a prompt I snipped out of an advertisement in a foodie magazine: “Once Upon a Time” (which wasn’t the intention of the ad, I clipped the phrase out of the ad and it’s been sitting on my computer table for a few weeks).

I grabbed some bottles of paint, made sure to include some metallic brushed gold and silver, and started using my fingers to smear paint all over the pages in the ole journal.

My littlest little one jumped in and started helping me finger paint (yep, she didn’t want to miss that fun!)…we made a lovely, messy beginning of a background.  And it was really, uhm, well, loud.  Or noisy, to be more exact.  The colors weren’t the airy, floaty, princess-like imagining that I had in my mind’s eye when I was pondering the prompt.

So.

I left it sitting on my table for a couple of days, looking at it, watching the background mocking me.

I do dislike a lot of my arting at some point during the whole process.  I’ve blogged about that before, the idea that even if I don’t like it, I just gotta keep going.  Something will come out of it.  It all just seems to be a part of my own creative process.  1. Get started.  2. Decide I hate it and it’s not worth finishing.  3. Keep going, keep adding stuff.  4. Start liking it again.  5. Tie it all in at the end and love it!

This time was no different, not sure why I expect that it will be any different just cuz I had something specific in mind before I started (which is not the norm for my art playing).

So I got back in there and didn’t let the background win.  I started adding the border stuff next.  I thought I might tie in some other colors and see where that would go.  This whole page is a different direction for me, I am not often in these warmer, bolder, jewel-like tones.

Then came the sketching of the flowers, colors, and so forth.  I did end up (after all else except the text) muting out the background.  I didn’t intend to do that, but I started adding some lighter colors to the outer edge of the flowers to kind of make them stand out, like backwards shading.  I like the way it looked, and it took over the whole background.  I’m not sure how well it shows up in the picture, but you can still see a lot of the first coat in the background as texture in the final deal.  Which is cool cuz Bella did it with me.

I’m not sure what brought the idea of “Sing Like No One’s Listening”…actually, on second thought, I do know why that’s been in my head.  The kids’ school year just started, and our music class has me singing and pretending like I’m really good at singing out loud.  I mean, how can I get the kids to sing out loud and practice using their voices and carrying a tune, if I’m too bashful to belt one out???

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once Upon a Time will have to wait for another day (it’s like that all the time around here, so the idea won’t run away!).

Your Prompt: What do you think of when you think of “Sing Like No One’s Listening”?  Do you sing out loud in the shower or the car?  Or are you full of courage and you sing on stage??  What does that look like to you?  Put it in the art journal 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sing Like No One’s Listening

    • Haha, nope, you’re not the only one! I’ve just decided to be at peace with that being a part of my process 🙂
      Remember to just keep working it, don’t give up on any particular piece…we learn something or gain something from every bit of the doing!
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

