How-to Texture Your Journal Page with Caulk

How to add visual interest through using texture is an ongoing study for me.  I do so love adding the look of texture, using layers of papers and paints and shapes…but all of that adds only the look of layers and texture, in a very 2-dimensional way.

Adding visual interest through more 3-dimensional layers is really way more fun.  I love the way it looks and the way it feels.  I like having art that I just want to run my hands over.

When I’m working in the ole art journal, of course, 3-D can be a bit trickier.  If I get it too dimensional, I won’t be able to close the book, lol.  So finding a balance while playing in one of my journals is an ongoing thing around here.

Caulk is one of my favorite mediums for adding texture to my canvases and art journal pages (you might have seen some of my earlier postings using caulk, in my art journal and on canvas).  Great things about caulk: it’s cheap, it’s readily available, it comes in different styles and materials.  It mixes with color, you can use it to make subtle texture or very stiff texture…the list goes on and on.  It’s great stuff.

I’ve had a lot of people looking at that colorful (are you ever surprised at which one of your blog postings are the ones that everyone seems to look at the most??) page using caulk and punchinella.  I did that whole bit just to show the result of the two together, but it didn’t really have much of an end purpose for it other than that.

So I’ll share with you here a more art-journally page (is that a word??) where I’ve used that very technique as part of a finished journal page.

I did put paint down on the gesso’d paper before I started adding the other layers.  I also added the stenciled flowers on the background before the caulk.

I cut the punchinella into a curvy shape before taping it down onto the paper.

Texture using caulk and punchinella

And I used clear silicone caulk, mixed with a bit of acrylic craft paint, so that the flowers underneath would show through (as compared to the very colorful page in the earlier post, where I put down white caulk, let it dry and cure, and then painted on top of that).

I suppose it was because I mixed the cheap craft paint with the silicone, but it didn’t want to cure to a point where it wasn’t sticky.  I followed it a couple of days later with a light coating of Martha Stewart faux glaze (one of my free craigslist finds along the way), just on top of the caulk and not the whole page.  When that cured up, the tacky was all gone.

Then I just played on my art journal background like any other time.  I had a bear of a time keeping everyone’s grubby hands off while I was finishing this page, haha.  Since it took a bit longer than expected for the caulk to be touchable, I had this book open and out on my table for a few days…and anytime anyone walked by, they’d reach out a paw and touch to see if it was dry!

Prompt: I’d love to see if you try this technique out!  Drop me a comment with a post to your own blog posting and pics, or send me a pic, or leave a comment to tell us about how you use caulk to add texture.

Leave a Reply

