Textured Caulk Hearts for the Art Journal

Whew!  This has been a crazy couple of weeks…I sort of fell off the regular posting bandwagon…again.

I know, I know, I didn’t think it would happen again.  I keep thinking life will settle into a routine, but I guess the routine has become what it now is.  Busy.  I always heard that as the kids get bigger and all hit school age that life will speed up.  I didn’t really understand that.  It actually has gotten busier.  I think that I thought it wouldn’t happen to us, not our family.

Ha.  It did happen to us, to our family.  The kids always have something going on, and it seems now that something is always getting thrown at us, someone needs a ride somewhere, or a buddy is having a birthday party, or the like.  Add to that mix all of the things that were already going on around here, and we have a busy little lifestyle brewing.

Not that I’m complaining, I just don’t always seem to sneak in the blog time.  I DO still find the arting time though 🙂  So I do have a backlog of planned posts to share fun things with you.

In the theme of using caulk for texture, I’m going to share with you a fun journal page…using tinted caulk.

I actually was working on a canvas and had made up a tinted batch of caulk and ended up with way too much.  And I hate to wasted paint or medium.  Often with leftover paint, I smear it around on pages in my little book of quotes, later to be used as the beginnings of backgrounds.

With caulk, you don’t have much time to figure out what to do with it, or it’ll dry out too fast to get it onto anything.  So get smarter than me, have something handy and ready to use the leftover caulk…

I did have handy my larger art journal.  I tend to gesso 5 or 10 pages ahead of time (when I’m not particularly inspired, I spend my art time gesso-ing books and junk mail to be ready for when I am inspired).

I’ll show you what came out of it here and then give you a few tips:

I used heart-shaped doilies (on sale for $0.30 at the grocery store after Valentine’s Day).  The tip here: I used an old credit card to smear the caulk over the doily.  Go for as few strokes as possible to smear the caulk over the doily, cuz the doily will not take much abuse before tearing.  Also, with too much working, the caulk will seep through and around the mask of the doily.  And lastly, with too much working, the doily will not peel up very easily once you have the caulk down.

I did go back after the fact and add the background color and other details.  The first step simply was the tinted caulk onto the blank-but-gessoed-page (again a symptom of not being prepared with anything for the leftover gesso).

I did the right page first, then went back and tried unsuccessfully to do a negative image of the caulk heart.  Still turned out pretty cool, just not exactly what I had in mind (triumphant blunders, huh?)…

I also spent a lot of time the past couple of weeks making decorations and odd little party favors for one of the kidlets’ birthday parties, making little recycled denim purses for the girls, and working on a special journal that will ultimately be a Christmas gift.  I’ll share more of those projects later.

I’m also hoping to get some time for the Art of Wild Abandonment 2, over at Christy Tomlinson’s.  I have been just itching to get in there and play, and it started a week ago!!  I keep walking past my computer, where I’ve got the page open to my login, and just haven’t had time to sit down and watch a video.  Pitiful, huh.

I hope your week or two has been fantastic, I hope you’re arting and loving and living.  And I’d love to see what you’re all up to, drop me a comment or a note anytime.  I’d love to hear from you 🙂

Prompt:  If you haven’t tried using caulk for anything yet, NOW is the time!  It’s cheap, it’s easy to play with, it’s tint-able, it’s readily available, and it is textural yumminess!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Textured Caulk Hearts for the Art Journal

Leave a Reply

