Art Supply Sample Inspiration, and Playing with the Kidlets

The sun illuminates only the eye of the man, but shines into the eye and the heart of the child.”

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

December is speeding by, way too fast for my liking.  I hold my breath, hoping to hold on to the moments and slow them waaaaaaayyyyy dddoooooowwwwwwnnnnn.

Know what I mean?

This past week and half, I ended up lying in bed, feeling sorry for myself, nursing a totally stuffed up head and horrible chest cold that kept me from breathing a full breath.  And I am not the most gracious sick gal.  I pout, I whine, I pine for getting up and getting back to my normally scheduled activities.

I just couldn’t seem to kick this horrible cold, really, it kicked me.  Hard.  The only bright side was I got to nap a lot, which I don’t usually do (is that really a bright side?).

So I am behind, way behind, on everything.  And I feel a little bit like I lost some of my Christmas-song-listening-time.

Ah, but now I’m sort of back to it.  And the kiddos and I got to play yesterday after schooling was all done.  I have managed to get myself on a couple of art supply sample mailing lists, and so lately I’ve received several AWESOME packages in the mail with samples!!  Yee-haw!

It’s funny, while I was really just excited about getting some new artsy stuffs to play with, I hadn’t expected the joyful inspiration that would come out of it.  And not just my inspiration.  The kidlets were so excited to dig in and play, too!

They really are growing up, they’re no longer just mixing all of the colors on the paper and turning everything muddy grey-brown.  Now, they’re more purposefully putting color in places, thinking before they just smear stuff around.  I get the explanations of what they’re doing, they have stories and images and thoughts behind what’s going on to the paper or canvas or whatever.

And they’re digging in and trying new things, using gesso and collage and glue and found objects.  And they don’t get caught up (much) in what they’re supposed to be doing…they just play and create what feels good.

I love my little people.  They remind me what it’s all really about, that having a cold isn’t the end of the world, that not getting all of the official traditional stuff done is okay, that just hanging out and napping and playing is a great way to do it.

Ryland's World 3

2 thoughts on “Art Supply Sample Inspiration, and Playing with the Kidlets

Leave a Reply

