Always Be Courting, a Caulk Canvas and Technique Video

Oh, my gosh!  I missed a Valentine post yesterday!  The shame…but I may have an okay excuse, I was helping the teenager with finishing up his science fair project.  Which of course was due today.

I don’t think I ever got a science fair project completed earlier than the night before, either.  And I’m pretty sure my parents would say they were always up late the night before with me, griping that I waited till the last minute to get it done.  Ha!  I did turn into my parents!

I must say, though, that I had no idea that you could measure the speed of light at home using a microwave and a bag of chocolate chips.

So here we are on Friday, the Friday before Valentine’s Day.  You still have the weekend to ponder prepping your love notes and making lovey-dovey projects for your heart-throb.

I am using the heart-theme to its full advantage 🙂

Always Be Courting

This canvas and video is one of my very favorite techniques.  It started a while back when Christopher saw that I was fighting the whole texture problem.  I would spend so much time adding layers, 2-D layers, of visual interest…which resulted in the look of texture, but not so much in actual tactile texture.  While a lot of art journaling techniques are all about adding the visual kind of texture, I was looking for tactile texture.  Something you can reach out and touch.  Something different, something that added serious dimension to my works.

Along came Christopher with a pile of tubes of caulk.  Ahhh, my texturing life got really exciting from there!  You can see one of my very first works using the caulk here (which is still one of my favorites, probably because of the emotional tie I have to it as my first caulk canvas, lol).

This video does NOT go into detail on painting the caulk texture.  It is a look into working the caulk, both on the background and on the foreground.  Color will come later.

And…this is my first appearance on video, for the intro.  You will see, I was extremely nervous, feeling super bashful, and clearly aware of the camera.  I am hoping with practice and time it will feel more natural.  So be nice.

Without further ado, here ya go.

4 thoughts on “Always Be Courting, a Caulk Canvas and Technique Video

  1. I’ve used some of the Golden gels for texture before. If you’ve tried those do you prefer the caulk? Do you get a different effect with the caulk? Probably less expensive;-) Video was great–music seemed to fit your hand movements!!

    • I have used both Golden and Liquitex gels, and still use them for all kinds of stuff.
      Caulk actually is similar to modeling paste, it’s heavier than a super heavy gel. And somehow the sticky is a bit less quick with the caulk, it seems to be workable longer.
      That helps when I’m working a larger surface. And remember, it’s made for shaping and smoothing on stuff in the house…
      And, yep, it’s waaay cheaper! I used a whole tube of caulk on this canvas, and paid 2.76 USD for the tube 🙂
      Thanks for watching!
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

