A Little Bit of Pen Love

After the whirlwind of Valentine posts, I got a little blog shy…or maybe just a bit blog tired…

And after my totally planned set of posts and projects for the holiday, I found myself playing with several projects, not really getting any one thing completed.  I just went kind of scatter-brained!

I do have some upcoming fun stuff to share, I’m almost finished with a gratitude journal made out of paint chips, a couple of junk journals, and some fun doodle-paintings on music paper.

I also spent the last couple of evenings with my now 8-year old girlie, making foam stamps and practicing origami.  I must say, I really suck at the whole origami thing, though.  She’s way better than I, and she thinks she needs to look at me to direct her, poor baby.

Home is Where My Heart Is 2

 

So, today’s bit of goodness, a bit of advisement for those of you that like to use pens on top of other layers.  I’ve had a running conversation with some good folks on fb, on Art of Wild Abandonment 2 (class via Christy Tomlinson and Junelle Halstrom Jacobsen), and it always seems to come back to the question of what kind of pen do I use to draw on NeoColors II (you can check out some my other ramblings on these little sweeties here):

My fave fave fave pen is the Pilot Uni-ball Vision.  It’s waterproof once it sets, it comes in different colors (although I mostly use black), it’s fine point, and it’s readily available at most office supply stores.  And maybe Wal Mart.

The waterproof thing is super important for me, cuz along with always remembering something else I wanted to add to my project after doodling, I am left-handed, and I drag my own hand through whatever I write…thereby smearing my own handwriting.  Constantly.

Now, no matter how awesome the pen, you still have to keep a couple of things in mind when you’re doodling all over your other stuff.  Gel pens and liquid roller ball pens work, but they can get all gunked up with the wax-y color from the wax crayons.

So, first, if you really wait long enough to let your colors dry all the way and set a bit, it will be easier.  I know that’s easier said than done, I’m totally impatient and mess with stuff way before it’s totally dry.  Try not to go too fast with the pen (tough for me when I’m doodling!).  Keep a scratch pad nearby, and you can scribble on it to get the wax or gunk or paint or whatever off of the tip and start doodling again.  And keep a light hand, if you press too hard, it’s way easier to get the ball or the tip all blocked with gunk.

When I am not feeling way too impatient to get to the doodling, I actually will stop and spray the project with clear, matte polyurethane.  It dries fast, and then you can do more work right on top of that.  It keeps a bit of a tooth.  You can doodle, use more paint, more NeoColors, do shading, glue more stuff on, and you don’t mess up what’s underneath.  And you can wipe a mark off if you’re quick, if you decide you don’t like the mark you just made.

Again, I’m not often patient enough to stop and do the step of spraying.  On my larger projects, like canvases, I do this step.

Now I’m off to a Friday night date with the hubby and kidlets…we’re going to JoAnn’s, I have a coupon!!!  I get to walk around one of my fave stores, holding hands with the hubs, looking at art supplies.  Doesn’t get much better than that 🙂

Have a great weekend, and let us know in the comments section if you have good tips on pens, what you like to use, how you cope with goo getting in the way!

Home is Where My Heart Is

 

2 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Pen Love

Leave a Reply

