Upcycling Cardboard for Canvases

Working out of my home is way overrated.  Finding time to art has become its own creative endeavor all it own…I keep several projects going at all times.  Then when I find a spare minute or two, I add a bit of paint or doodle here and a bit of glued paper there, and eventually I get a whole piece finished.

But here’s the super-duper awesome thing about the job: all of the trainers are now saving me the cardboard that comes out of the training materials they use in their classes!  I have a gigantic pile of these babies, they come out of the packets of training materials before they get put inside 3-ring binders.  All of them are the same size, they’re in pristine shape, and they gesso up and make the perfect canvas for collages and other art works!  And the kids love them as well!!

Who knew?  I get paid to work, and I get more Art Fodder™!!

They will make great book covers for art journals.  They are the perfect size for making lovies to frame and put on the wall.  And they are a nice, consistent size for another project I’m creating that will have pages and pages of illustrations.

I’m posting a few here for you to see how well the card boards are working out.

TreeButterflyBirdie

Prompt: What do you like to use as alternatives to traditional canvas?  Cereal boxes, old book covers, cardboard? 

3 thoughts on “Upcycling Cardboard for Canvases

  1. It sounds like you are putting those cardboards to good use. My husband builds new homes so I collect the scrap 2×6, 2×4’s and other boards that he would normally put in the trash. I’m been making my mixed media paintings on them and love how they turn out plus they stand up on their own too.

  2. How fun are your pieces!!!! My favorite is the tree branches, but I love the birdie and the quote on the middle one is sweet as can be. I guess I like them all! I have used pieces of wood that I find in my Dad’s workshop. He cuts them down to size. I just gesso them up and they are the perfect “free” canvas! 🙂

Leave a Reply

