I Art Because I Must

More than two years ago, when I first started blogging, I tackled the topic of why I art.  And I asked my readers, Why do you art??

I don’t really think that the answer is totally different, exactly, but it is more.  Or more defined.  Or, hmm…the answer is more.  Full.  That’s it: more full. 

I understand why art is a discipline.  I understand why it’s a hobby.  And I understand why it’s a passion.  I think that art is all of that, for most of us that art.  Sometimes, we have to force ourselves to sit down and art.  We don’t feel like it…we don’t feel inspired…we don’t have a good idea

But if we can just do it anyway.  If we can just dominate our feelings and do something.  Anything.  We can overcome that inner critic that says we don’t have anything worthy of arting about right now.  We can own it.  We can ART.  We can art anyway, to spite all of the crap that tells us we’re not good enough, or our inspirations aren’t worthy of immortalizing, or that it’s only time to art when we are in the right place with the right materials and the right light and the right ambiance.

All of that is crap.  Total crap.

Sometimes we’re going to make something that’s a bit less than great.  That’s okay.  We have to get through those creations to learn something.  Maybe we have to learn a color combination that we love or that doesn’t work at all.  Maybe we have to try a new pen stroke or brush stroke to see if it works or not.  I know you get it.

Maybe we have some unspoken quota of garbage-to-fabulous-ratio, like 30:1 of crappy so-so creations to amazing creations.  Then we just have to get through the 30 less-than-stellar practice runs before we hit the home run, museum-worthy artistic wonders of the world.  We just have to get them done.  And that 31st creation will be the one we were waiting for all along.

I once heard a golfer explain the game of golf like this: Golf is a series of terrible shots that make you curse and hate the game and wonder why the hell you’re wasting your time.  And then suddenly, Whack!  You hit the perfect shot, the shot that you know will land you on the Pro Tour, the shot that just connects your club with your ball perfectly.  The Universe is in total alignment.  The sound, the feel of the club, the whisshing of the air as the ball goes flying, it’s all perfect.  And you’re like, Yeah, I love this freaking game!!

Art can be like that for me.  Sometimes I wonder why I even made that mess on the canvas in front of me.  But whether or not I get the perfect shot, the messy ones make me feel better.  I enjoy arting.  I feel more aligned, I feel more relaxed, and well, I just feel way COOLER when I art.

Yep, I’m an artist.  Just sounds cool, right?  Did you know you’re cool, too?  I always loved artists, you’re an interesting bunch, you have a lot of feelings and things to say.  Share them.  And don’t give up.

What about me??  It’s simple…

I art because I must. 

photo(1)

 

Leave a Reply

