Art Journal Fodder ™ an Art Journal Page and Prompt

tribute: n. a gift, testimonial, compliment, or the like, given as due or in acknowledgment of gratitude or esteem.

I collect lists.  All kinds of lists…lists of groceries we need, lists of books to read, lists of blogs to visit, lists of art supplies I long to get.  My art project list gets longer faster than I get to the projects on the list!  I have a list of sketches to practice, a list of color schemes to try, a list of upcoming canvases, a list of quotes I love to use in my art, and a list of themes for art journal pages.  I even have a list of words to inspire me if I get stuck!

This journal page is kind of a tribute to lists…and it’s a tribute to feeling positive and keeping myself motivated and remembering all of those things that are important in my life.  A tribute to all of those reasons that I choose to art

I really can’t get a single photo of both sides of the page at the same time, keeps coming out super blurry, so I’ve separated it into the left- and right-hand sides of the whole:

Originally, I was poking around Roben Marie’s blog, and read through this post that is actually a repost from an earlier post she did.  I love the colors she used, and I love the list of questions she has in the post.  I started there and then went on to build my own list of questions to use in my own journal page.  I did not follow the whole list she has posted; rather, I built a list that focused on all of the positive and meaningful things in my mind’s eye.

Here’s my list, and these little gems are all around incorporated into the page…around the paper shapes, around the border of the large journal blocks, right smack on the page directly:

  1. I’m happiest when…
  2. Someday I’m going to…
  3. I like people who…
  4. What I really want to do is…
  5. I wish that…
  6. My favorite thing is…
  7. If I could do whatever I wanted…
  8. What tickles my heart…
  9. I always look for…
  10. My life…
  11. I am most grateful to God for…
  12. A person really should…
  13. My favorite word/s are…
  14. I love…
This actually spurred me on to a whole ‘nother set of lists in my sketch book, someday I’ll share some of those others, I think they’re all great Art Fodder™!
For this page, I used everything but the kitchen sink…okay, only being mildly facetious…I did use Neocolors for the first layer of the background, acrylic paints, punchinella, bubble wrap, bits of paper scraps, vellum scraps, music paper scraps, paper from a cute notepad, brown packing paper from somewhere, rubons, lace, snapshots of me and the kidlets, a magazine cutting, glitter paint, and my Pilot waterproof pen.  Whew, that’s a lot of fodder, huh…I didn’t even realize how much till I wrote out the list here, lol!
Prompt:  Use these questions, answer them quickly without thinking, and make a list you can use in your art journal.  Add your own questions if you want.  You don’t have to use all of my questions, or any of them for that matter.  The idea is to just let the though inspire you.

6 thoughts on “Art Journal Fodder ™ an Art Journal Page and Prompt

  1. I’m a list-maker too. And I love reusing lists as a background layer in my journals…they add such an interesting texture, especially, if the torn off tops of the notepad is included. Lovely pages and questions. There’s should be enough inspiration there to last you a while 🙂

  2. Pingback: Selecting and Preparing An Art Journal | scribology

  3. Pingback: The “Together” Art Journal Page | scribology

Leave a comment